Last Updated: April 1, 2023

 The Geological Survey of Japan (GSJ), one of the seven departments of the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), gathers, compiles, and provides geological information of our country. It consists of three research units, namely the Institute of Earthquake and Volcano Geology, Institute of Geology and Geoinformation, Institute for Geo-Resources and Environment, together with the Renewable Energy Research Center (Geothermal Energy Team, Shallow Geothermal and Hydrogeology Team), Fukushima Renewable Energy Institute (FREA) and the Geoinformation Service Center. GSJ has recently launched collaborative research groups of the Research Laboratory for COVID-19 Infection Risk Assessment and on Environmentally–Conscious Developments and Technologies (E-CODE) with other departments in AIST aiming to solve social problems.

Organization Chart

Organization chart

Top Officials

Director General NAKAO Shinsuke
Deputy Director General IMAIZUMI Hiroyuki
Assistant Director General SAWAKI Takayuki
Assistant Director General ITOH Jun'ichi
Senior Manager TANAKA Yuichiro
Director, Research Planning Office NODA Atsushi
Director, Collaboration Promotion Office MIYASHITA Yukari
Director, Research Institute of Earthquake and Volcano Geology FUJIWARA Osamu
Director, Research Institute for Geo-Resources and Environment SOMA Nobukazu
Director, Research Institute of Geology and Geoinformation ARAI Kohsaku
Deputy Director, Renewable Energy Research Center ASANUMA Hiroshi
Director, Geoinformation Service Center YOSHIKAWA Toshiyuki